Good article on predator control/Game and Fish Depts

I think this is a very interesting article by George Wuerthner and not just because I agree with what he says.

As a non-hunter, it’s often hard to be taken seriously when it comes to wildlife conservation issues since the issue of license fees and taxes on equipment give hunters say over Game departments. I know I’d be willing to pay a tax on binoculars or spotting scopes and/or some sort of “wildlife stamp” in order to be able to have more of a say in how predators are managed. I’m not against hunting, it’s just not anything I grew up doing and is not part of my paradigm. I am against hunting predators, especially to boost the numbers of game animals for humans.  To me, that just seems like a slight variation on a bounty from the past. Anyway, enough of me, here’s the article.

Leave a Reply

