Our National Mammal, Part II

A friend sent me this article and I felt it was so well done that I needed to include a link on this blog. I still appreciate the recognition that bison have gotten but I agree 100% that the situation in Yellowstone is unconscionable, national mammal or not. Anyway, here’s the link and another photo from YNP.

brothers

Post-rut gathering in the Lamar Valley.

2 Responses to “Our National Mammal, Part II”

  1. Josh Gross | The Jaguar Says:

    I actually thought about this when I first read that bison had been declared our national mammal. I think that in the long run we might be able to use their new status to combat their slaughter. As people talk about and like bison more, learning that our own Parks service is killing them at the behest of ranchers might generate more uproar. We just have to make sure the story gets told, which eventually it will; despite Yellowstone’s blatant disregard for the freedom of the press.

  2. swjags Says:

    Exactly! And if the press can get access to the reality of the situation, perhaps change can begin.

Leave a Reply

